Advancement & Awards

Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps in overcoming them through the advancement method. Scouts plan their own advancement and progress at their own pace as they meet each challenge. Scouts are recognized and rewarded for each achievement, which helps them gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others.

Advancement is the process by which youth members of the Boy Scouts of America progress from rank to rank and is the method by which we promote and encourage the ongoing involvement and commitment that keeps members coming back for more. It works best when it is built into a unit’s program so that simply participating leads to meaningful achievement and recognition—and to a continually improving readiness for more complex experiences.

Advancement Activities

The Silver Beaver Award

Silver Beaver Award History List 1931-2023

Overview: The Silver Beaver Award was introduced in 1931 and is a council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Recipients of this award are registered Scouters who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given at the council level. Please use the form below to nominate the volunteer.

Please help recognize your fellow Scouters for their hard work and dedication to the Scouting program. Silver Beaver Nominations are open from Jan 1 – Feb 28, 2024.

Please complete the following form: NOMINATION FORM and email to Bill Williams at

William D. Boyce New Unit Organizer Award

In a heavy London fog in 1909, American businessman William D. Boyce became lost. He was approached by a youth who took Mr. Boyce to his destination. When offered a tip by Boyce, this unknown Scout refused to accept it, saying that he could not accept money for a good turn.  This “Good Turn” gave birth to the Scouting movement in America. William D. Boyce was one of those organizing individuals who could see thousands of American youth exhibiting similar values. To support efforts to have Scouting in every community in America, the Boy Scouts of America presents the William D. Boyce New-Unit Organizer Award to volunteers who organize one new traditional unit.

The award consists of a square knot against a background of gold, green, and red, the three colors representing the three traditional programs of the Boy Scouts of America. A device for each type of traditional unit organized can be worn with the square knot. Learn more here:  If you believe Scouts or Scouters in your unit are eligible, please reach out to

Diocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting

The Diocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting (DCCS) consists of Catholic Scouters who are registered in one or more of the many Scouting programs of the Diocese of Worcester. For more information on their mission, focus and offerings, download the DCCS trifold brochure.  And stay apprised about upcoming events and activities on their Facebook page at @WorcesterDCCS   

SCOUT SUNDAY for the Diocese of Worcester is March 10th at 10:00AM.  Learn More 


Typically in the fall each year, formal classes of study will begin for all Boy Scouts of Catholic faith ages 13 and up who are interested in earning the Ad Altare Dei or the Pope Pius XII award for Scouts.

Any Catholic Scout age 13 and over can work toward the Ad Altare Dei award. Scouts of high school age, 15 and over, can attain the Pope Pius XII award. The program helps a Scout to gain a better understanding and appreciation of his faith, as well as to understand the relationship between his faith and his involvement as a Scout. For more information on these programs, please visit the DCCS website.  


The Worcester Diocese Catholic Committee on Scouting is calling for nominations for Adult Catholic Religious Awards due by February 26, 2024.

The awards are to recognize those adults in Scouting who have participated in promoting and teaching Catholic Faith Formation in Scouting through religious emblem programs, Scout Sunday observance, and various other activities relating to the Faith.  

Nomination Forms:  

     Bronze Pelican                    St. George Emblem  

Nomination forms should be submitted by February 26th to:

     Vincent Matulaitis
     DCCOS Nomination Chair
     70 Moore Ave.
     Worcester MA 01602

Background:  The Bronze Pelican and the St. George Emblem are for those adults involved in the Cub and/or Boy Scout programs. A nominee for the Bronze Pelican has significantly influenced Catholic Scouting for at least three years. Nominees for the St. George emblem have previously received the Bronze Pelican and have made significant and outstanding contributions to the spiritual development of Catholic youths through Scouting. Nomination forms should give a detailed description of how the nominee provides such outstanding contributions.